The Contraphonic

The Contraphonic
19 Nov 2015

The Contraphonic Sound Series is a project that aims to document cities through sound. The Sound Series consists of distinct approaches to accomplish this task. The field recordings and sound pieces in the A Lot You Got to Holler section are ambient field recordings and collected soundscapes of Chicago that allow one to listen in and interact with places on a map. Tonal Drift is an examination of place through the medium of sound, made via cut-up field recordings from locations across London, the Greater UK, and Chicago. A Pittsburgh-focused series of curated and composed pieces by musicians sonically exploring a particular place, event, neighborhood or moment across their city’s history. The resulting work is released digitally with an accompanying booklet of essays and photos on the topic at hand.


P.O. Box 2203
Chicago, IL 60690
(312) 451-3767
Visit Us Online



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *